PAVEL MOZHAR

21 - 30 March 2022

Online Screening

A CONVERSATION WITH PAVEL MOZHAR

30 March 2022

19:30 IST / 18:30 CET

Online Event

It’s August 2020. While in Minsk protests are mounting against Lukashenko’s re-election, Pavel Mozhar follows the developments in his homeland from his room in Berlin. Over these few days, around 7,000 protesters were arrested by the notorious OMON riot police.

Mozhar studied hundreds of witness statements on the internet and discovered there was a systemic approach to the oppression. He transforms his room into a studio where he stages re-enactments of witness testimonies by a “police officer” wearing black clothes and a balaclava, and four “detainees” dressed identically in shirts and jeans. The result is distressingly instructive. [IDFA 2021]

Pavel Mozhar was born in 1987 in Minsk and has lived in and around Berlin since the age of ten. He obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Philosophy & Economics at the University of Bayreuth (2009-2012). During this time, he was involved in student film projects and attended seminars at the Media Studies faculty. After graduation he had various internships and jobs in the film industry. In 2015 he started his Master’s degree in Directing at the Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf, majoring in documentary forms. 

 

KIRIK’s 2022 programs are supported by SAHA as part of the Sustainability Fund 2021-2022. 

Athena Athanasıou & Elena Tzelepıs

18 January 2022, Tuesday 18:30 IST/16:30 CET

Online event

Tomislav Medak

23 December 2021, Thursday 19:30 IST/ 17:30 CET

Online event

By SPIT! (Carlos Maria Romero, Carlos Motta and John Arthur Peetz)

Performed by Despina Zacharopoulos

25 November - 9 December

Online screening

Hiwa K

7 - 17 October 2021

Online screening

Banu Karaca

11 August 2021 Wednesday 18:00

Online event

Meltem Ahıska & Saygun Gökarıksel

16 June 2021 Wednesday 18:00

Online event